Our History

The Society was founded in 1955, “to encourage and advance all aspects of still photography”.

In 1960, Woking Photographic Society was one of the prime movers in the formation of the Surrey Photographic Federation, now the Surrey Photographic Association (SPA). The Society is affiliated to the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain (PAGB) through its membership of the SPA.

Since its formation, the Society has seen many changes of photographic styles and techniques, most recently the rapid rise of digital capture and manipulation of images.

In 2008, the Society received a grant from the National Lottery under the Awards for All programme. This allowed us to purchase equipment for high quality digital projection of images.

Over the years, we have built up a substantial archive of prints, which illustrate changing approaches to photography. We plan to make digital copies of a selection from this archive and will display them on the website in the future.

Presidential Roll.

2021Richard Sheldrake
2019Rob Bonfield
2017Justin Cliffe
2016Tony Charters
2014David Smith
2012David Williams
2010Bob Holmes
2008Tony Britton
2006Mike Logan
2004George Felton
2002Carol Smith
2000Luz Starkie
1998Tony Charters
1996Brian Skinner
1994Ruth Felton
1992Chris Tank
1990Tony Charters
1988Barry Barker
1986Dick Jones ARPS
1984Peter Baldwin
1982Keith Hunt
1981John Page
1980Jim Cottrill
1979David Leech
1977Denis Andrews
1975Fred Moller
1974Peter Hall
1974John Wallond
1972Peter Baldwin
1970Ken Taylor
1969Mike Scott
1968Miss A. M. Ayton
1966Jim Cottrill
1964John Wallond
1963Roy Handover
1961Hugh Bradley
1960Jack Lambert
1959Roy Handover
1955Dr John Bloss